When to drop your morning nap?

I haven’t written a blog post for a couple of days as life has just been hectic,  last night I made my husband sit down and go through our calendar as we have so much going on the next couple of months including the arrival of a new baby. To my horror we have one free weekend at home before 10th July (my due date) and it feels like we have done nothing to prepare for our new arrival. I think nesting is starting to kick in so I’m sure it will all get done as I’m writing list after list 🙂

In between writing the lists and panicking we decided to make some changes to Isabella’s routine as getting her down for her morning nap was either getting harder or she wouldn’t need to nap until later so I started to trial dropping her morning nap.. All the books seem to say that this usually happens around 18 months so were only doing it a couple of months early.

Image

Whether this was the right decision I was undecided as without her nap she was grumpy (this usually lasts about an hour but if you give her your attention for this period its manageable) and with both naps she was never ready to go to bed at 19:00.

Instead of her old routine: Nap: 09:00 Lunch: 12:00 Nap: 13:00

We are now just giving her lunch at 12 and then she goes down straight away for her afternoon nap. As a result she seems to be sleeping better at night and there is no stress in trying to get her down for her afternoon nap as she’s knackered by then.

As with everything in parenting and children’s routine a lot of it is trial and error but this seems to be working for her 🙂 they seem to grow up so fast and things that wouldn’t seem like a big deal before you had a child now are. Isabella now sleeps with a normal duvet instead of a Grobag and to my husband and I this seems like a massive mile stone and we were actually excited about it. Something I would have never grasped before having Isabella 🙂

Hope you all had amazing bank holiday weekends
Sophie X

Leave a Reply

